Paid vs. Unpaid Translation-Take 2

After this first experience, I retreated from formal voluntary work for a long time. I don’t have the guts to work for Amnesty International, for example, and I feel a little guilty in that department.

Having thus lost myself in translation for many years, there came a point in my life when I wanted to make myself ‘useful’ again, and I started voluntary translation (written).

But, how do you reconcile a busy schedule with voluntary work?

Voluntary organizations, especially the smaller offices, need a commitment that makes your work meaningful. I assigned one day per week to one particular organization. One day can mean a lot of money for a translator, so it wasn’t a fixed day, I was able to move it in the week as I needed in order to cover an urgent deadline, or I couldn’t work around a paid project. And with modern technology, I was still able to receive notifications of projects offered by my clients on my mobile, so I wasn’t losing anything.

From my observations, I can list at least 3 good reasons for doing this kind of voluntary work during your working life, and I can tell that this was truly a win-win venture. It has broadened my expertise into the field of community development, where I can now work with confidence and get paid, it has broadened my social network, as I made a few friends through my voluntary work, and my personal perception is that you can assert yourself more as a professional than when you are just a student or a beginner. I phased out after the one-point-five-million-word mark, it was probably more because I didn’t start counting from Day 1. I wasn’t bored, but I needed more personal time for other pursuits.

I also do occasional unpaid work for friends, but also for young people (not homework, though!). There is a young lady out there in a US university, whose transcripts I translated so that she could get accepted. I was so proud for her when she did (she got in because of her brilliant ratings, not because of my translation)!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Paid vs. Unpaid Translation-Take 2”

  1. motso Says:

    Very well written. Translators will benefitted immensly.
    Ostom
    getdirectclient.blogspot.com

  2. Nadine T. Says:

    Thanks a lot. I visited your blog and found that you offer some very practical advice too.

  3. Herich Says:

    Dear All,

    If anyone of you feels interested in translating games and get paid, feel free to email me your CV and mobile number at h5r9c8@yahoo.com . Please put Name_LanguagePair_MobileNumber as Email Subject.

    Regards,

    Herich

Leave a Reply

