Nicolas Sarkozy’s Speech to the United States Congress, interpreted

Please note that my blog has been transfered to my own domain. If you wish to visit again in the future, I recommend that you go here, where it will be updated. Thank you again for visiting!

You will not see this kind of post very often on my blog, but I selected it because it is very representative of our work, irrespective of one’s opinion on the political content of the speech.

Just listen for a couple of minutes, for the flavor of it. And it’s only Part 2 of the speech, it’s in 4 parts on YouTube, if you want to listen to the whole speech.


View Nadine Touzet's profile on LinkedIn

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Nicolas Sarkozy’s Speech to the United States Congress, interpreted”

  1. Naoki Says:

    I have few chance to experience the interpreters’ work, but I feel this person is great.

    I have many chances to see subtitles on the movies, and I made some myself. That was a hard work but very interesting. The sentences must be short and easy to understand.

    Translating and Interpreting may be different like recording and live act for musicians.

  2. Nadine T. Says:

    Thank you for your comment.

    For the difference between translation and interpreting, you may read the previous post. It’s difficult to explain in simple terms. In a way you are right, but I think that recording and live act is more of less the same material. Not for us.

  3. Steven Mines Says:

    Genial! Thanks for sharing. A fine example and a rare chance on You Tube no less to follow a very polished performance of a formal political speech. It might seem like nitpicking but as an American conference interpreter, I guess I would have preferred a less trans-Atlantic sounding colleague’s voice — and wondered why a male interpreter wasn’t used instead. However, a very useful contribution to the general (and client) education of what is actually involved. What a great blog, Nadine. I thought your account of the client/communication debacle in the South of France was a good example of the challenges freelancers face of being responsible and responsive to clients even when we don’t have the support or conditions needed to work adequately. Merci!

  4. Nadine T. Says:

    Steven, I agree with you on both counts, but I didn’t feel I had the right to start a transatlantic war on this. You are not nitpicking. However not being behind the scenes, I don’t know how our colleague was recruited.
    Thanks for the comments, it’s good to hear from like-minded colleagues.

Leave a Reply

